Font Size:
Ask Joget AI

Version

Introduction

It lets you manage the version of the application that you are developing and lets you easily switch between and publish different versions, even while in production.  

It is a helpful tool for developers as it allows them to continue working on and improving an application while maintaining a production copy.

Users can, for instance, continue to use version 1 of a published application while developers work on an unpublished version 2.

  • New Version: Create a new version of the current selected app version.
  • Publish: Set selected version as Published version.
  • Unpublish: Set the selected published version to unpublished.
  • View: Switch to the current selected version to work on its design.
  • Delete: Delete selected version.

Deletion of App Version

By deleting a version of the App, any form data created by the app will be retained to avoid loss of data. Technically, the AppDefinition object is being deleted.

What will happen to existing running process instances under the deleted App Version?

Any running process instances will persist and not be deleted when the App Version is deleted so that one can properly handle them later. It is critical to note that upon the App Version's deletion, forms once tied to the running process instances will cease to exist. Therefore, it is advisable to plan how to manage the running instances first before deleting the App Version.

You advise users to branch the app to a new version whenever they want to make changes to their app that have already been rolled out to production. This would also ensure that existing process instances will continue to run without being affected by your uncommitted/incomplete development work.

Update app version

  • Copies Processes, Forms, Datalists, UI, and properties of the current version to the new version.
  • Does NOT affect any existing running process instances.

Version Awareness Notification

New Feature
The Version Awareness Notification is only available in Joget DX 9.1 and above.

App Composer displays a notification when a newer unpublished version of an application is available.

If a published version is opened while a newer unpublished version exists, a warning notification is displayed to inform developers that they are viewing an earlier version. This helps improve version visibility and encourages development on the latest application version.

When a published version of an application is opened and a newer unpublished version already exists, the notification is displayed.

Click Latest to open the newest unpublished version and continue development on the latest version.

Created by Aadrian Last modified by Siti Noratiqah on Jul 02, 2026